Update: fundraising and teambuilding day - Reisverslag uit Elst, Nederland van Luca Zweers - WaarBenJij.nu Update: fundraising and teambuilding day - Reisverslag uit Elst, Nederland van Luca Zweers - WaarBenJij.nu

Update: fundraising and teambuilding day

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Luca

11 Februari 2014 | Nederland, Elst

Hi!

It only takes 10 day before my departure to South Africa!!! I am really excited! :) Time suddenly flew by. My last blog post has been a while ago and there has been progression in the South Africa process.

On the 21nd of September I did my fundraising. My father's company was standing on the Scheepsbeurs in Antwerp. My father asked if I could control the bar that day, and I agreed. Then I realized it was a perfect location to do some fundraising. I made small posters which said who I am, where I am going and what the fundraising was for. I bought a money-box with lions because I thought it was suitable. Many visitors were interested and enthusiastic when I told them about Genadendal and our project. Some donated money, big and small amounts. I was very surprised when I opened the money-box at the end of the day. I collected almost 400 euros!

In October came my dad home with an envelope named to me. It was an envelope with 120 euros for Ubuntu goes Dutch! One of my father's work relations had taken one poster with him when he was on the exhibition in Antwerp. He thought the foundation was such a good initiative that he asked people at his company to donate money. I was very surprised but also very thankful for his contribution. In total I collected about 520 euros for Ubuntu goes Dutch!

But I am not alone.. All students that will go to South Africa have collected money and we are near to the 5000 euros! I think this is an amazing amount of money. I think it will be of great need in Genadendal and I am looking forward to hand out the cheque with money when we are in Genadendal.

On the 6th of February we had our teambuilding day. All 20 students were present together with the 4 teachters who will go along with us. In the beginning we watched a small movie about the history of South Africa. It was about District 6 and the Apartheid that took place. It was very confronting and hard to watch. Especially because we are going to visit a museum on Apartheid when we are in South Africa. We did several things to strengthen the bond between the students like a matching game, trust game and a group assignment. Later we made up rules for South Africa like: respect each other, privacy and clear you own rubbish. We finished this day with a lunch made by all students like cake, wraps, brownies and self made bread. I didn't expect this day to be of so much value but it was a successful day.

I can't believe my departure to South Africa is almost here! I remember the day heard I was allowed to go to South Africa, this has been more than 7 months ago! I don't know what to expect in South Africa but I will let it over come and see what happens. I am sure it will be a great experience :)

xxxxx
Luca

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Luca

Actief sinds 09 Aug. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 200
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6761

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Februari 2014 - 08 Maart 2014

Zuid-Afrika 2014

Landen bezocht: